A Little About Me…

For the past 10 years, my husband and I have moved all over the country for his job.  We both work for hotels and that comes with moving A LOT…every couple of years (or in our case, every year).  I met my husband when we both were working in the Washington, DC/Arlington, VA area.  From there, we moved to Greenwich, CT followed by Austin, TX, Monterey, CA, San Antonio, TX and Key West, FL.

As soon as we got to Key West, I knew it wasn’t for me.  It’s a great area for a vacation, but it just wasn’t home.  We were both ready to move closer to our families as we started talking about a family of our own.  In May of 2014, we found out that my husband’s division of his company was being sold to another company.  It was the perfect time to start looking at what other options were out there.  It was time to move to a place that we both wanted to be and not just because he was told to go there.

It took a few months, but he was able to get a great job with a new hotel company.  The position is in Michigan.  At first, I was a little hesitant.  Neither one of us is from Michigan nor do we have family here.  But, my in-laws are only 2 hours away and my parents are a 10 hour drive.  We are both from the midwest/northeast area and were super excited to be able to drive to see our families instead of flying.  We would be able to get home a lot easier whenever we wanted or needed to.

So in December, I said goodbye to a job I was really happy in to make the move.  I am excited for this new, fresh start, but nervous too.  I have to start over again!!…meet new people, find a new job.  But the idea that this is a place where we can be for a long time and raise a family makes the idea of starting over again much easier.

My idea for the blog is to help me get out of the house and see what our new town has to offer.  I can become like a hermit when we move, especially with my husband working.  It’s easier to just stay home, right?  Well, now that we are moved in to a place, I have no excuse.  This blog will help me get out and try new things.

Can’t wait to see what 2015 brings for us!

Leave a Reply

